top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr. Tõnis

Old displays as a desk lamp

At work I had numerous 4.3” screens that were used in different prototypes and testing. The project manager wanted to throw them away and I thought that it would be a shame to just throw them away. Thus, I decided to reuse them in some way.

The project started with the CAD modelling. It took me three trials before I was able to print out all the components stable and small enough for the lamp. The assembly process was more challenging than planned, nevertheless in the end I managed to get everything to work out.

Soldering the small LED cable was quite difficult due to the limited space. However, in the end the result looks nice. The panels have different colors, since different manufacturer screens were used. As it seems the screens have more differences than expected.

For the power I used an old laptop power supply. All in all a successful upscaling project.





© 2021 by Dr. Tõnis. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page