top of page
Writer's pictureDr. Tõnis

Old monitors as light source

In this weekend project I tried to reuse as many components as possible. First, I salvaged backlight modules from three older screens. Unfortunately, they did not use LED lights, thus I replaced the high voltage parts with LEDs. To power everything up I used an old laptop power supply, the frame is made from an old shelf combined with a few 3d printed components. The light works as intended, the overall design could be better, however for me the functionality is more important.


Secondly, I made a light panel. Like in criminal movies where police investigators look at stuff on a bottom lighted table I now have a similar panel. I had a fourth screen where I just needed to add a suitable boost converter to turn the LEDs on. This panel is very helpful to trace drawings from an original to my own canvas.


Overall successful project as I was able to reuse all the components from scrap or other project rests.




Yorumlar


bottom of page